Blogging. A necessary evil.

….Or so everyone keeps telling me. I’m not a fan of blogging. As a matter of fact, I’m of the opinion it’s “graffiti with punctuation”, as it was appropriately dubbed in the film Contagion. But everyone does it at some point, regardless of whether they want to admit it or not (like so many things, right?).

Everybody and their mother has a blog. And they can blog about stupid topics — shit that just doesn’t matter — but people read it anyway. So here’s mine: I can’t think of anything particularly interesting at the moment, but I’m giving it a try.

Back to writing…spending time with imaginary people in imaginary places.

4 responses to “Blogging. A necessary evil.

  • Mr WordPress

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  • Trick Brown

    It is a strange phenomenon how blogging has become quasi-obligatory.

    Equally strange, I don’t believe Facebook is as useful as people think, yet twitter is probably more important than people believe.

    Perhaps one of these days I’ll get myself on twitter.

    Good luck with your blogging. 🙂

  • dribblingpensioner

    Facebook is rubbish i deleted mine. Twitter is great for putting your post links into.

    @Jordan,i see you made the changes, don’t have a category and a tag the same name, and try to make the about page a bit more personal.

    Always here to help out.

  • Invisible Mikey

    Blogging, like any other writing medium, can be important or unimportant. Some bloggers write “what I did today” posts, a sort of longer Tweets. Some blogs are for viewing more than reading. Some use them to plug their own works outside of blogging, but most do not. Blogging is most closely related to magazine writing, with the addition of interactive feedback. There are magazines for all tastes and interests. It’s short-form work.

    It’s also a means of personal expression. You can make it as intimate or as impersonal as you choose. It’s not unusual for a blog to begin one way and then change. At first I only wrote op-ed, but a large response to a couple of confessional personal experience stories encouraged me to add that into the mix.

    I use mine as workout space to clarify my thought process. I’m not selling anything but ideas from my pov.

Leave a Reply

